My insights in online journalism

I think I am the only student (or one of few of them) who actually studies advertising and not journalism. I study business and advertising at home in Switzerland and it is really interesting for me to have an insight into the world of digital journalism this semester.

As one of the questions we are going to discuss next week is if we can imagine our personal future in data journalism, I was thinking about this in the last few days. I personally think that I cannot imagine myself working in data journalism in the future.

Don’t get me wrong, I think it is really interesting to gather all this information about the different subjects we were blogging about in the last weeks. I really enjoy reading the opinions of the others and I also like to put my own opinion in my posts. But…

I still like it more to read blogs and online magazines than to write articles for them. I think a data journalist needs to be informed about almost everything that is going on in the news, needs to be up to date 24 hours a day and then still needs good and important ideas for the articles. I don’t see myself there because I think I could not handle all of the information I had to search for every day and night.

I have a lot of respect for people working as journalists and especially people working in online journalism. It is nice to be on the other side for this semester, but for the future I will enjoy all of your articles and know how many effort you put in it. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

